Today, the penalties for driving drunk in Texas have never been more severe. In fact, DWI (driving while intoxicated) is the only misdemeanor criminal offense for which you cannot receive deferred adjudication under Texas law.
Moreover, new state laws require that if your Texas driver’s license is suspended for a driving drunk conviction (DWI), you will be required to pay a minimum of $1,000 per year for three years just to keep your license.
Austin criminal defense attorney, Josh Saegert has the knowledge and experience to ensure that those charged with any type of alcohol related case, in state or federal court, will receive first-rate representation.
- Non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .08 or more.
- Drivers of commercial vehicles are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .04 percent or greater. In Texas, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.
- Drivers under 21 are legally drunk when there is any detectable amount of alcohol in their system.
DWI & DUI